Kale Chips

My first successful attempt at kale chips (yay)!

I am a huge fan of vegetable crisps, especially those beetroot and carrot chips. I have tried to make my own veggie chips countless times. They either remain soggy or end up burnt. I’ve searched and tried many recipes, and always fail. Believe it or not, I’ve even purchased a little veggie chip making gadget from homemark, that failed terribly too.         The slices (I used carrots) remained soft and burnt around the edges. *sob… sob*

Anyhoo… back to the kale chips. The first time I had tasted them, they were delicious! They’re light, crispy and crumble gently in your mouth. I enjoy the cheesy herb chips from earthshine. They are just too pricey though.                               80 bucks for a little bag! Gosh… (And I can finish a bag in one go).

I decided to make my own kale chips. The problem was:… “Where do you get kale from?” I’ve searched around supermarkets, fruit&veg etc… And no sign of something called kale. Worst of all… nobody knew what I was talking about! :-/. My mother, the one person who knows everything culinary, had no clue as to what I was talking about.

Let me give you some insight about this phenomenon… Kale.

*click the image to enlarge*

kale_infographic

wow, that’s a Superfood!

Here is a recipe for kale chips (the successful one 😛 )

You will need:

Preheat oven to lowest temperature (I used 150’c)

Baking tray greased and lined with baking/wax paper

A bunch of kale (washed and dried)

Olive oil

Spices of your choice (plain salt and pepper tastes great)

STEP 1   rinse the kale and dry in a salad spinner or with paper towels.

STEP 2: cut off the stems and cut the leaves to chip size.
(I would suggest cutting them a little bigger than preferred chip size as they do shrink in the oven)

STEP 3: Coat the leaves with olive oil, add your spices and lay out on a lined baking tray.
Make sure that every single leaf is coated in oil.

STEP 4:    place in the oven for about 15-30 min depending on your temperature setting (lower temp will take longer).  *Keep checking on them and flip the chips over halfway through cooking time.

I’ve made two different types: the one batch i used salt and pepper, the other batch was spiced with paprika for a little more spice.

STEP 6:    once they’re roasted and crispy, remove from the oven and leave to cool.

*Tip: if you feel that they aren’t crispy enough, switch off the oven and leave it in the oven for a few minutes. They will still roast.

Enjoy guilt-free kale chips!

The entire batch contains only 66 calories!

Leave a Reply

